Penske sweep at Indy

Penske sweep at Indy

The victory, which gave team owner Roger Penske his first in a stock vehicle race victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway after winning 17 times there in Indy cars, was the second of the year for Keselowski.

Keselowski's crew chief, Paul Wolfe, elected to pit Keselowski late in his final run as he was last among the leaders to hit pit road on lap 142 just before the caution flag waved a lap later for a large piece of debris on the frontstretch.

Hamlin appeared to have command of the race over the final laps, but a series of wrecks closed up the field and forced a couple of late race restarts.

Kurt Busch clinched the regular-season title with an eighth-place finish in the No. 18 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing.

The Big Machine Vodka 400 at the Brickyard featured fourteen lead changes among nine drivers and was slowed ten times under the caution flag for 39 laps.

The 16 drivers who will compete in the playoffs are Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr., Kurt Busch, Joey Logano, Clint Bowyer, Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon, Keselowski, Jones, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Hamlin, Aric Almirola, Johnson and Bowman.

Leader Denny Hamlin got out to a great restart, but second-place Clint Bowyer spun his tires, allowing Keselowski - who had much fresher tires than the leaders - to take second.

Hamlin's consolation prize will be joining Keselowski and Jones in the first round of the playoffs next week.

Tesla stock falls as CEO appears to smoke marijuana on video
Tesla is under extreme pressure to turn a sustained net profit starting this quarter, as promised by Musk. She wouldn't give a reason for her departure, which she said has been in the works for two months.

Florence expected to become 'major hurricane' by Monday
Two more storms named Helene and Isaac are following behind Florence, according to Fox , but are expected to be less threatening. Whiteville's Lowes Home Improvement Store was doing a brisk business in plywood, duct tape, and generators Sunday afternoon.

Horrific bus accident in Telangana claims more than 40 lives
Modi said his thoughts and solidarity are with the bereaved families. "I pray that the injured recover quickly". Allegedly, the conductor allowed 80 passengers while the seating capacity of the bus is a mere 44.

Kyle Busch won the regular season championship and Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman claimed the final two open spots in the playoff field. Truex and the team won the Cup championship a year ago and go into next week's playoffs trying to defend their title.

Martin Truex Jr. crashed out of the race minutes before the end of the stage.

Tyler Reddick finished second, Ryan Blaney was third and Chase Elliott fourth. Dillon is seeded 11th and Larson is 12th. If it works the way race organizers and series officials hope, it could be used in the future Brickyard 400s.

That part certainly worked.

Matt Kenseth of Roush Fenway Racing has won the second stage of the Brickyard 400. Hamlin was third 1.703 seconds behind.

BC-CAR-NASCAR-Brickyard-Xfinity, 618Allgaier finally gets to kiss bricks after winning at IndyAP Photo NAA106, NAA107, NAA104, NAA105, NAA102, NAA103, NAA101Eds: With AP Photos.

He won by 0.904 seconds over Erik Jones. No drivers got to practice or qualify before the racing doubleheader began Monday, and the crowd remained sparse for the rare weekday race.

Keselowski also became the first Ford driver to win at Indy since Dale Jarrett in 1999.

Related Articles