The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje wins the Golden Man Booker Prize

The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje wins the Golden Man Booker Prize

Roman Michael Ondaatje "the English patient" won the "Golden man Booker prize" - a special award for the best book in 50 years of the award.

Ondaatje, accepting the prize at the Man Booker Festival in London, didn't share Shamsie's enthusiasm about his novel, the Guardian reports.

The English Patient won the Booker in 1992.

The other shortlisted books for the Golden Man Booker were V.S. Naipaul's "In a Free State", Penelope Lively's "Moon Tiger", Hilary Mantel's "Wolf Hall" and George Saunders' "Lincoln in the Bardo", the only American novel to be named a finalist.

A panel of judges read all 51 former winners of the award, with each assigned a decade from the Booker's history.

The book was adapted into a 1996 film by Anthony Minghella.

France vs. Belgium final score, recap
The former Everton boss used a four-man back line against Brazil after using a three-man defense for the previous four matches. The victor between France and Belgium on Tuesday will face either England or Croatia in the World Cup final on Sunday.

Teaneck community mourns 5 family members killed in crash
It was learned that Trinidad and Ballocanag met in NY after coming to the United States in the 1980s. No charges had been filed as of Sunday as state police continued their investigation.

Real Madrid agree to transfer Cristiano Ronaldo to Juventus
Scores a single-season record 17 goals in the Champions League in 2013-14 as Real secure a 10th European title. The forward has also cemented his place as Madrid's all-time leading scorer with 451 goals in 438 games .

Ondaatje accepted his award, and then was quoted as saying: "Not for a second do I believe this is the best book on the list - or any other list that could have been put together of Booker novels".

In 2008, the Booker Prize held a similar competition for its 40th anniversary, when the public voted for Salman Rushdie's "Midnight's Children", which originally won in 1981.

"It's intricately (and rewardingly) structured, beautifully written, with great humanity written into every page", Shamsie said."Ondaatje's imagination acknowledges no borders as it moves between Cairo, Italy, India, England, Canada - and between deserts and villas and bomb craters". The organizing Committee praised her novel Flights ("Flights"), translated Jennifer Croft. "As we celebrate the prize's 50th anniversary, it's a testament to the impact and legacy of the Man Booker Prize that all of the winning books are still in print", she added.

The Golden Booker award marked the end of the Man Booker 50 Festival on the banks of the river Thames in London.

We will remind, in may the victor of the International Booker prize in 2018 was the Polish writer with Ukrainian roots Olga Tokarchuk.

Ondaatje's latest book is a novel called Warlight, the story of a young man looking for answers about his peculiar post-war childhood, left by his parents in the care of two likely criminals.

Related Articles